Project Management

As with user management, having the appropriate authorization approval, you can also access fundamental administration functions such as the creation and deletion of individual project instances within the scope of project management. However, for the administration of projects, additional functions and settings are available.

Note: In contrast to user management, most project administration tasks can be performed not only by users in the basic user role “TenantAdmin”, but also as “SimpleUser”. The prerequisite for the latter case is that the user has the project user role “ProjectAdmin” for the respective project.

To perform administrative tasks in the context of project management, click on “Projects” in the navigation bar. The main display area then displays a table with all the projects created so far that are assigned to your tentant (see Figure 9).

Figure 9. Project management in the ReqSuite® WebApp

The following project management functions are available:

  • Add Project: Click the “Add project…” button above the table. An input window opens in which you have to enter the project name and assign the “Configuration” on which the project is based via the selection menu. In addition, you can use the checkbox to (de)activate various project work strategies with regard to “Reusable content” and “Collaboration mode” as required (see Figure 10 left).
  • Edit project settings: Click on the “Pencil icon” button in the last row column of the project to be modified. An editing window opens in which you can adjust the previous settings with regard to project work strategies. The project name and the underlying project configuration cannot be changed retrospectively (see Figure 2, bottom left).
  • Delete project: Click on the “trashcan icon” button in the last row column of the project to be deleted. A query window opens, in which you can confirm the irrevocable deletion of the project from the system by pressing the “OK” button, or cancel the process by using “Cancel” (see Figure 2, top right).
  • Update configuration: Click the “Up arrow icon” button in the last row column of the project the configuration of which you want to update. A query window is opened where you can click the “OK” button to confirm the update of the project configuration stored for the project to the latest version or cancel the process by clicking “Cancel” (see Figure 2, bottom right).

Note: Use the update function for projects with caution! Under certain circumstances, data records of old variants of your contents can be deleted irrevocably from the system. To be on the safe side, save all data contents of the affected project using the available export functions in the Content Manager regularly or immediately before updating the project with the current configuration.

Figure 10. Dialog windows for adding (left), editing (center), deleting (top right) a project and updating the project configuration (bottom right)
  • Assign users: Click the “User icon” button in the last row column of the project for which you want to customize the user assignment. In the main display area of the WebApp, the “Project Roles Management” view is loaded. In addition to the users available for an assignment on the left-hand side, this table also shows the users currently assigned to the project, including their project user role, in a table on the right-hand side. To assign a user to the project, select that user in the left table and click on the upper “Right arrow icon” button that is now activated between the two tables (see Figure 11 above). To unassign a user from the project, select that user in the right table and click on the lower “Left arrow icon” button that is now activated between the two tables. For an assigned user, the project user role can also be defined in the corresponding line of the right-hand table under “Project role” using the selection menu (see Figure 11 below).
Figure 11. User assignment (top) and removal of a user assignment (bottom left) for a project with project role management (bottom right)
  • Assign interfaces: Click the “Double-arrow icon” button in the last row column of the project for which you want to customize the interface assignment. In the main display area of the WebApp, the “Interface Assignment” view is loaded. In addition to the interfaces available for assignment on the left-hand side, this table also shows the interfaces currently assigned to the project on the right-hand side. To assign an interface to the project, select that interface in the left table and click on the upper “Right arrow icon” button that is now activated between the two tables (see Figure 12 above). To unassign an interface from the project, select that interface in the right table and click on the lower “Left arrow icon” button that is now activated between the two tables. For an assigned interface, you can also make interface-specific settings for data synchronization with a downstream system. To do this, press the “Board icon” button in the corresponding last row column of the interface to be adjusted (see Interface Settings for more information on this topic).
Figure 12. Interface assignment (top) and removal of an interface assignment for a project (bottom left) with interface settings (bottom right)