ReqSuite® Requirements Manager (RM)
Group Administration

Figure 1: Group administration in ReqSuite® RM

To perform administrative tasks on groups, ReqSuite® RM provides group management, which allows to create, delete or modify groups. These groups can be assigned to users specifically for projects depending on their tasks in those projects. For this purpose, administrators can add one or more groups to a user, change the group assignment or delete the group assignment. Via Administration->Projects administrators can assign the groups for the respective projects under “assign user”. For this administrators have to assign a user to the project and then assign a group to the user on the right side.

The group assignment does neither work for API-Users and nor for Pure Readers, but only for Project Managers and Workers.

If a user is part of a group assigned to a category or folder, then he can edit the items of this category or folder even if he is not assigned to the item as a responsible person himself. If the SecureMode is also activated for a category in the project template, then the group assignment controls not only the editing rights, but also the reading rights. This means that anyone who is not part of the assigned group will not see the elements at all. Users can only assign people as responsible who are either project managers or members of the group in force (in this state).

In a project, the Project Manager can assign, change or remove a group to each category and folder. No other role has the permission to do this. More information on how to assign groups to folders and categories can be found herehere.