ReqSuite® Requirements Manager (RM)
The content table in ReqSuite® RM provides the user with all functions to perform operations on the elements of the defined categories (see Figure 1). For each individual category, ReqSuite® RM displays a separate table on its own tab whose columns represent the attributes of this category. Depending on whether a workflow has been defined for a category or not, it is also possible to switch to a Kanban board instead of the table.
Depending on the selected element(s) in the table, the content table provides the following functions.
Add new element
When clicking the “plus” icon, an empty editing window is opened where the user can create a new element of the corresponding category.
When having selected one element in the table and clicking the “pen” icon, the editing window for this element is opened enabling the user to perform changes on this element. When multiple elements are selected, a bulk editing window is opened instead, enabling the user to edit the selected elements at the same time.
Manage links for element(s)
When having selected one or more elements in the table and clicking the “chain” icon, a linking window is opened in which the user can create or delete links of the selected element(s) to other elements of the project.
When having selected one or more elements in the table and clicking the “copy” icon, the selected element(s) is/are copied including all attributes, attachments and relationships. A copy in ReqSuite® RM is always an independent element without any relation to the element it was copied from.
Export element(s) to other project
When having selected one or more elements in the table and clicking the “upload” icon, the user will have the possibility to export the elements in another existing or newly created project. In this regard, it can be defined if the element(s) shall be exported as a copy or as a reference, whether related elements shall be exported too and whether the exported elements shall be referenced back to the project. As this functionality is the similar to the reuse functionality of ReqSuite® RM, you will find more information here.
Export element(s) to Excel
When having selected one or more elements in the table and clicking the “Excel” icon, these elements with the currently shown columns are exported to an Excel spreadsheet. For a more powerful Excel export, please check out the corresponding functions in the menu bar.
Export element(s) to other tools
When having assigned interfaces to external tools, there will be a possibility to export elements of the categories to be synchronized. When having selected one or more elements in the table and clicking the “exchange” icon, these elements will be synchronized with the corresponding tool as specified by the administrator in the mapping.
When selecting one or more elements in the table and clicking the “move” icon, the user will have the possibility to move these elements to a certain folder or even another category.
When having selected two elements, ReqSuite® RM provides the user with the possibility to merge these elements. After merging the content of both elements, the older element is automatically deleted.
When clicking the “delete” icon, the selected element(s) in the table are deleted from project. Before the actual deletion is executed, the user will see the confirmation popup.
Manage overview of elements
If an overview graphic is defined for a category, an “image” icon will be displayed above the corresponding table. By clicking on this icon, the user will have the possibility to add, edit, or delete a graphic that shows how the different elements of the category are related.
When having set up at least one project with reusable content and clicking on the “download” icon, the user will see a window in which all reusable elements of the same category from other projects are shown. In this window, the user will find the possibility to select elements and import them to the project either as copy or reference. For more information on reuse, click here.
Restore deleted element(s)
When you delete elements from a project, these elements are not physically deleted. Rather, by clicking the “Recycle” icon, the user has the option to restore such deleted elements.
Show all/less columns
By clicking on the “T” icon, the content table will show more or less columns depending on the its current state. By default only a subset of all available columns are shown for the purpose of clarity.
If you have set a filter on the columns of the table (which is possible using the three dots in the header of each column) and click the “Funnel” icon, all these filters will be removed.
Switch between table and board view
When there is a workflow defined for the correponding category, a clicking on the “grid” icon, the view will be switched from a tabular representation to a board representation (and vice versa).
Show only specially marked elements
When you click on the “exclamation mark” icon, the table is automatically filtered for items that are marked with an icon, e.g. because there are comments, open items, quality issues, impacts or missed deadlines.
By typing a (partial) search term into the search field “Search in table…”, the content of the table will be filtered to those elements that contain the search string. Unlike the global “search in project”, this function will ony filter the elements of the corresponding category.